Judge Kerri Carter
Probate Court is a court of limited jurisdiction responsible for the probate and administration of estates for Dade County residents. The Probate Court exercises exclusive, original jurisdiction in the probate of wills, administration of estates, appointment of guardians and involuntary hospitalization of incapacitated adults and other individuals.
Kerri Carter is Judge of Probate Court in Dade County.
All probate court judges administer oaths of office and issue marriage licenses. They may hold habeas corpus hearings or preside over criminal preliminary hearings. Unless a jury trial is requested, probate court judges may also hear certain misdemeanors, traffic cases and violations of state game and fish laws in counties where there is no state court. When authorized by local statute, probate judges serve as election supervisors and make appointments to certain local public offices.
It is a court of record; therefore, all documents filed in Probate Court must be recorded in minute books and kept permanently available to the public.
Probate court judges are elected to four-year terms in countywide, partisan elections. A candidate for judge of the probate court must be at least 25 years of age, a high school graduate, a U.S. citizen and a county resident for at least two years preceding the election. In counties with more than 96,000 residents, a candidate for probate judge must have practiced law for seven years and be at least 30 years of age.
The Probate Court is committed to providing you with excellent customer service. We will be happy to assist you with any questions or concerns you may have about the services of this office or the procedures you must follow for a particular process. Please be advised, however, that state law prohibits our staff from rendering legal advice, restating the law or recommending specific ways to pursue legal action. If you have a problem involving the interpretation of the law, we suggest you contact an attorney licensed in the State of Georgia.
The Dade County Probate Court has its own web page at www.GeorgiaCourts.org which provides valuable information about wills and probate in general, as well as links to downloadable forms.
Probate Court offers the following services:
- Marriage License: They are issued Monday - Thursday from 8:30-4:00 and Friday from 8:30-1:00 and cost $77.00 cash, debit or credit card.
You must have:
- state issued identification or a certified copy of your birth certificate
- provide your social security number.
- If you have been married we must see a copy of your final divorce decree signed by the judge or a death certificate if widowed.
- Weapons Carry License: WCL applications are accepted Monday - Thursday from 8:30-4:00 and Friday from 8:30-1:00.
**New applicants** must apply in the office and be fingerprinted at the Dade County Sheriff's Department. The application cost is $30.00 cash, debit, or credit card in the probate office. The fingerprinting at the sheriff's office must be set up and completed at ga.cogentid.com and costs $48.25. Log in to ga.cogentid.com, select applicant registration, then GA Court services, and Probate Court. After accepting terms and conditions, enter reviewing agency ID "GA041013J" and reason: Pistol Permit. Fill in all yellow sections and take confirmation number or printed receipt to Sheriff's Department for fingerprinting.
**Renewals** are $30.00 cash, debit, or credit card. You must have a valid Georgia issued identification with the correct current address or 2 proofs of residence along with a certified copy of your birth certificate. Renewals are only available to current holders of a valid Georgia issued weapons carry permit 90 days prior to or up to 30 days past the expiration date.
To request a certified copy of a document do the following:
- Certified copy of marriage license or application for marriage license:
Provide in writing by mail or in person at the office:
- Name of both parties at time of the marriage
- Date of marriage
- $10.00 money order (cash, debit, or credit accepted in person)
- Self-addressed envelope if mailed
- Certified copy of a birth or death certificate:
Provide in writing by mail or in person at the office a signed request with (photocopy of) state issued picture identification and:
- The full name at birth of person
- Date of birth or death
- County of birth or death
- Full name of parents